Association of Canadian Port Authorities
ACPA HomePort Industry Facts Canadian Ports MagazineMedia ReleasesJoin NowUpcoming Events  
ACPA Conferences/Seminars
Medal of Merit
About ACPA
ACPA Membership
Industry Information
Public Relations
Contact Us


Programs — Medal of Merit

  1. This prestigious award is to be made in recognition of outstanding work or service, preferably of national impact, by an individual, institution or organization in the port, shipping or maritime fields.
  2. The Medal of Merit will be awarded every year. However, if there is not a suitable candidate, it is not mandatory to do so.
  3. Nominations may be made by any corporate member of the ACPA.
  4. Nominee must be Canadian.
  5. Active members of the ACPA are not eligible.
  6. A waiting period of two (2) years after leaving the Association shall apply to all active members before they may become eligible for nomination as a candidate for the Medal of Merit.
  7. The Board has the responsibility for initiating, obtaining, processing and consideration of nominations, and shall submit a report and recommendations for consideration by the full Board of Directors, including a list of nominees and their qualifications, and reasons for the selection of the recommended recipient, if any.
  8. The Association shall, in its discretion, pay all reasonable expenses for the transportation and accommodation to cover the attendance of the recipient at the Annual Meeting to receive the award.
  9. The responsibility of the Medal of Merit program and the presentation award shall remain with the Board of Directors.

Medal of Merit Awards

Recipient Presentation

2019 Bertrand Picard (Les Croisieres du Fjord - Port Community Service, awarded posthumously)
         Gilles Rinfret (Les Croisieres du Fjord - Port Community Service)
2018 Beth Kelly Hatt (Aquila Tours - Port Community Service)
         Dennis Campbell (Ambassatours Gray Line - Port Community Service)
2017 Captain Norman Stark (Port Community Service - awarded posthumously)
         Seaspan (Transportation Service)
2016 Richard International Limited (Marine Service)
2015 Canadian National (CN) (Transportation Service)
2015 Canadian Pacific (CP) (Transportation Service)
2014 Alphonse Belanger Belledune N.B. (Service to Shipping Community)
2013 Captain Alwyn (AL) Soppitt Saint John (Port Community Service)
2012 Blair McKeil (Marine Service)
2011 Nicole Trépanier (Marine Service)
2010 Captain Sid Hynes Newfoundland and Labrador (Marine Service)
2009 Dr. Bill Hicks (Community Service)
2008 Wes Armour (Transportation Service)
2007 Laurence Pathy (Marine Service)
          Dominic Taddeo (Port Community Service)
2006 Jack Leitch  (Marine Service)
2005 Dan Doyle (Public Service/Ports)
          Andrew Wilkinson (Public Service/Ports)
2004 Melvin Woodward St. John’s (Marine Service)
2003 Capt. Michel Pouliot Trois-Rivieres (Marine Service),
           Richard Pierce Trois-Rivieres (Port Community Service, Awarded Posthumously)
2002 Hon. David Collenette Windsor (Public Service/Marine)
2001 Madeleine Paquin Richmond (Port Community Service)
2000 No Award
1999 Capt. Henri Allard Quebec (Port Community Service)
1998 No Award
1997 William B. Rest Toronto (Port Community Service)
1996 Capt. John D. Pace Quebec (Canada Steamship Lines)
1995 Capt. J.A.Z. Degagnes Chicoutimi (Service to Shipping)
1994 David K. Gardiner Hamilton (Promoting Great Lakes)
1993 Rev. Joeseph Parker, Mrs. D. Parker Surrey, (Marine Service)
1992 Leo Ryan Saint John (Marine Writing/Service)
1991 Valmont Blanchette Sept-Isles (Marine Service)
1990 Gordon Sinclair Thunder Bay (Transportation Service)
1989 Joseph Scott Prince Rupert (Marine Service)
1988 Christopher T. Brown Vancouver (Service to Shippin
1987 Missions to Seamen Ste. Foy (Service to Sailors)
1986 Mark Wilson Windsor (Marine Writing)
1985 Dr. John P. Tulley Vancouver (Oceanographic Studies)
1984 Philip Warburton Oland Cornerbrook (Port Community Service)
1983 Brian Gallery Montreal (Marine Service)
1982 Ernest B. Griffith Toronto (Marine Service)
1981 No Award
1980 John D. Leitch Halifax, (Leadership in Shipping)
1979 Norman Hacking Quebec City (Marine Writing)
1978 Pierre Camu Ottawa (Service to Shipping Community)
1977 David W. Blair Victoria (Port Community Service)
1976 Charles Hurst Charlottetown (Marine Service)
1975 Albert Sigurdson Thunder Bay (Marine Reporting)

© 2016 ACPA/AAPC All rights reserved.